Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Book Review: The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl. Vol. 1, Squirrel Power


Image from RRHS Catalog


As a trade hardcover, Squirrel Power—volume 1 of The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl—collects issues 1-5 in which mutant Doreen Green and her sidekick Tippy-Toe begin college, best Kraven the Hunter, and save Earth from Galactus. Ostensibly, our heroine is attempting to blend in with non-superhero society and become a computer scientist, following in the footsteps of her idol Tony Stark. Unfortunately, she has more than a little trouble acclimating to student life. Set in the Avenger corner of the Marvel universe, Squirrel Power is chock full of not-so-casual, casual references to Iron Man, the Avengers, Stark Tower, Doctor Doom, and Thanos as well as allusions to Green’s possibly more suitable partners the X-men, Wolverine, and Deadpool. Written by Ryan North, creator of the fourteen-year running webcomic Dinosaur Comics (http://www.qwantz.com/), this series is laden with the punny humor and zany commentary fans have come to expect from him. Squirrel Girl is a fast-paced, silly, self-aware romp that is full of wordplay and light on fan-service. Because its artwork is appealing but not overtly sexy, this title is easily appropriate for middle grade readers and beyond. The light-hearted references to itself and the conventions of its genre will find an audience in readers who likes having the “comic” in their comics. Moreover, allusions to other members of the Marvel universe strike the right balance between arcane and insipid in order to appeal to cannon heads and newcomers alike. In short, you would like this book if you like…Marvel’s Deadpool, Lumberjanes, Nimona by Noelle Stevenson, and The Princess and the Pony by Kate Beaton.

- Christina Taylor, RRHS Librarian

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Book Review: Doomed by Tracy Deebs

Image from RRHS Catalog


Feeling unwanted by the mother she’s always known, Pandora Walker can’t resist opening an email from the father she doesn’t remember—unwittingly unleashing cyber Armageddon and sending the entire world into panic. There is suddenly no Internet, no cellular service, no utilities, and no law enforcement. So, Pandora teams up with stepbrothers Eli and Theo to close the box that she has opened by besting her namesake, an allegorical MMO of her father’s making. Simultaneously, they’re forced to track down clues both online and in real life if they want to level up, beat the game, and save the world from a very literal self-destruction. Doomed is a high-energy page turner that will keep readers asking “what next?!” You would like this book if you like… sci-fi, cyberpunk, dystopian, and romance; Little Brother by Cory Doctorow, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Divergent by Veronica Roth, or Crewel by Gennifer Albin.

- Christina Taylor, DragonLibrary Staff


Wednesday, April 5, 2017

Book Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Image from RRHS Catalog


Maddy is a girl who has SCID- a disease in which she is allergic to everything. Olly and his family move in across the street from Maddy and her mom. Maddy and Olly strike up an email relationship. Carla, Maddy's nurse, allows Olly into the house for a visit without her mom's knowledge. Maddy wants to know what it's like to live IN the world and takes steps to make it happen. How things turn out will surprise you. I definitely recommend this book; it is a great story of love, both familial and romantic. You would like this book if you like romance and adventure.

- Becky Seitsinger, DragonLibrary Staff

Friday, March 31, 2017

Fall of the Dragon Prince (The Forgotten Heirs Trilogy Bk. 1) by Dan Allen

Image from amazon.com


Years ago, the five realms were united byToran, the King. Rumor has it that Toran left an heir in each of the five realms and tied the success of each realm to the survival of his hidden heirs. Now that Toran has died, the realms are once again in turmoil, and only an heir can reunite them.
In the Erdali Realm, Reann, a highly intelligent serving girl in Toran’s estate, has taken it upon herself to try to find the heirs. Her mother was the translator for King Toran, before her death left Reann orphaned. King Toran took Reann in as a servant and left instruction for her to be cared for until her swiftly approaching eighteenth birthday. Reann is the unofficial librarian of the estate and uses all her spare time to research, knowing that she has only weeks left to solve the secret of the heirs before she will be kicked out of the estate. Then, a mysterious nobleman shows up with clues and employs her help in solving the riddle of the lost heirs. In the Montazi Realm, Terith has been raised as a dragon rider. He is the most gifted rider in his village and in charge of the raising and training of the war dragons. Terith will ride to represent his village in the upcoming race to win the right to marry the woman he loves. But his magic awakening has begun early, so he has to learn to control it to be successful in the race and defeat the dark traitor who will be racing against him Will the heirs be found in time to save the realms?

This book is fantasy at its’ best! Fans of Eragon, Game of Thrones, and classic dragon fantasy will enjoy this. The characters are wonderfully written and likable. Readers will find themselves reading through the night, unable to put this down--unable to wait for the next book in the series... needing to know what happens to Reann and Terith! You would like this book if you like… Dragon Fantasy stories!


- Sara Pavone, DragonLibrary Staff